Kozue

I have to admit – I am TOTALLY caught up in Machine Knitting at the moment. I’ve had two machines packed away for a couple of years that I inherited….trying not to hear them calling me when ‘ere I walked past. I knew it was a slippery slope.

Now that I seem to have all but abandoned regular knitting I am totally hooked on either replicating patterns via the machine or mastering the basics so I can write my own ones.

Yesterday I worked on Kozue….a simple enough pattern but wonderfully converted (by those talented Melbournian Machine Knitters) into a super easy first machine knit pattern. It really took me way tooooo long but I learnt an awful lot and really love the result.

I had looked at all the wonderful monochromatic examples already knit, but had my mind on a rainbow type scarf….but not too in your face-type-of-rainbow…the inspiration to use the Fiddlehead fern cotton thread  (yep – that’s right, Fiddlehead fern)  really pulled the scarf together. A light and airy 59gms worth of Dairing Super Fine Merino and the wonderful Fiddlehead Fern Cotton thread throughout.

2 comments on “Kozue

  1. RoseRed says:

    I think that is one of the great things about machine knitting – the ability to make super lightweight knits. It is really difficult and time consuming to replicate that with hand knitting (can you imagine knitting such a big scarf on 2mm sticks -gah!). Looks great, you clever clogs!

  2. 2paw says:

    Oh wow, you are right, it is rainbowy, but not in your face. Such a great new skill and I agree with RoseRed, who wants to basically knit a very big flat sock??? Not me!!

Comments are closed.